Learn in public

A good friend of mine (Baptiste Devessier) finally convinced me to create my own blog. He convinced me to learn in public and not to stay alone in my corner trying to hoard every bit of knowledge I can.


Why now ?

What was refraining me before were :

  • Shyness : I didn’t want to show how I write, how I code, how I think
  • Fear of failure/mistake : I didn’t want people to point at my mistakes
  • Selfishness : I worked hard to acquire this knowledge, why should I give it for free?

But during my journey as a consultant and as a developer, I read many articles (a ton actually), and met so many benevolent people (thanks to all of them) willing to share their knowledge. They all helped me becoming who I am today and motivated me to also share what I learned. Baptiste Devessier juste gave that last little push for me to make the leap and share it online.


Why learn in public ?

The following articles can explain the why and the how WAY WAY WAY better than me. If you have not read them, you definitely should !


This blog is going to be for me a way to learn in public. My aim is to create some kind of knowledge library : what problem did I encounter, how did I solve it (or not ?). I would then be able to find back what I did if I ever stumble upon something similar.

Hopefully, this can have 3 benefits. First, teaching is learning. Writing a post and trying to organize my ideas to explain them is a way for me to learn. Second, it will help anyone who would have the same problem as I did. Third, my solution may (and is probably) not the best, and someone more experienced may correct me and in the process, teach me something.


In summary, this blog, with my short, painful and disorganized writing, will be one way for me to give back to the community what it gave me while being also an opportunity to learn and grow.